Resizing and Freezing Rows and Columns

   Overview   

You can readjust the size of rows and columns in an Excel spreadsheet. You can also freeze a row or column so you can view it alongside data elsewhere in the worksheet.

In this article, you will learn the steps to adjust the sizing of columns and row, then freeze a pane in an Excel worksheet.

1. Step 1

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with Row 2 highlighted

To change the height of a row(s), click the appropriate number(s) in the row header.

Example shown here: number 2 to expand the height for Row 2 .

2. Step 2

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the Format button highlighted

To change the height of the selected row(s), click the Format button on the Home tab.

3. Step 3

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the Row Height option highlighted

From the Format menu list, select the Row Height option.

4. Step 4

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the Row Height field highlighted

In the Row height field, a default height number appears for the selected row(s). You change the height of the selected row(s) by entering a larger or smaller number.  

Example shown here: " 20 " in the Row height field

5. Step 5

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the OK button highlighted

Click OK.

6. Step 6

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with Row 2 highlighted

The selected row is formatted to reflect the entered row height.  

7. Step 7

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with Column A highlighted

To change the width of a column, click the appropriate letter in the column header.

Example shown here: the letter A to expand the width of Column  .

8. Step 8

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the Format button highlighted

To change the width of the selected column(s), click the Format button.

9. Step 9

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the Column width option highlighted

From the Format menu list, select the Column Width option.

10. Step 10

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the Column width field highlighted

In the Column width field, a default width number appears for the selected columns(s). You change the width of the selected column(s) by entering a larger or smaller number.  

Example shown here: " 12 ". Column width field.

11. Step 11

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the OK button highlighted

Click OK.

12. Step 12

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with Column A highlighted

The selected column(s) are formatted to reflect the entered column width.  

13. Step 13

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with Column A highlighted

The Freeze Panes option in Excel allows you to compare data in large datasets. The function allows you keep an area of a worksheet visible while you scroll to another area of the worksheet.

To freeze panes, click the appropriate number or letter in the selected row or column header.

Example shown here: letter A to freeze Column A .

14. Step 14

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the View tab highlighted

Click the View tab.

15. Step 15

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the Freeze Panes button highlighted

To freeze the selected column, click the Freeze Panes button on the Home tab.

16. Step 16

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the Freeze First Column option highlighted

From the Freeze Panes menu, you can select the appropriate action for how you want to freeze the selected row/column(s).  

Example shown here: Freeze First Column from the list.

17. Step 17

Excel SpreadSheet displayed with Column A highlighted

The selected row/column is frozen, allowing you to scroll through the data while keeping the row/column in view.