Creating a Chart in Excel

   Overview   

You can create visual representations of data in an Excel spreadsheet using a variety of charts. Excel will also recommend different visualizations based on your data.

This tutorial will show you how to add and remove various chart elements, including a title, legend, data table, and trendline.

In this article, you will learn the steps to create a chart in Excel with a title, legend, data trendline, and table.

1. Step 1

Excel Worksheet displayed with the Insert tab highlighted

From within a worksheet, click the Insert tab.

2. Step 2

Excel Worksheet displayed with the cell A1, H1, and cell H18 data highlighted

The Insert menu ribbon is displayed above the worksheet data.

To create a chart, you will need to select one or more cells in a set of data for which you want to create a chart. Select the cells by clicking and dragging to highlight  

Example shown here: select by clicking in cell A1 and dragging over to cell H1, then down to cell H18 . 

3. Step 3

Excel Worksheet displayed with the Recommended Charts icon highlighted

With the data highlighted, click the Recommended Charts icon.

4. Step 4

Insert Chart pop-up window displayed with the Clustered Column option highlighted

The Insert Chart pop-up window is displayed. From this page, you will select the appropriate chart to display your data.

Scroll through the list of options under the Recommended Charts until you find the one that best visualizes your data. Clicking a chart provides a preview of the chart with your data and a description.

You can also browse all charts by clicking on the All Charts tab.   

Example shown here: the Clustered Column option.

5. Step 5

Insert Chart pop-up window displayed with the OK button highlighted

Once you have selected your chart, click the OK button.

6. Step 6

Created chart displayed and highlighted

The created chart is displayed.  

7. Step 7

Created chart displayed with the chart tile box highlighted

To add a chart title, click the top of the displayed chart.

8. Step 8

Created chart displayed with the Chart Elements [+] button highlighted

The Chart Elements and Chart Styles buttons are displayed in the upper right corner of the chart.

Click the Chart Elements [+] button.

9. Step 9

Chart Elements dropdown menu displayed with the Chart Title checkbox highlighted

The Chart Elements dropdown menu is displayed.

Click the Chart Title checkbox.

Note: You can add other chart elements at the same time, including axis titles or data labels, by checking any of the displayed options. To remove any of these options, uncheck the appropriate box.

10. Step 10

Created chart displayed with the text box highlighted

The Chart Title text box is displayed at the top of the chart.

On this page, enter the appropriate title in the text box.

11. Step 11

Created chart displayed with the expand arrow [>] highlighted

The entered chart title is displayed.

You can also format elements of your chart title to enhance its visibility.

Click the arrow [>] to the right of Chart Title in the Chart Elements menu.

12. Step 12

Created chart displayed with the Centered Overlay option highlighted

Another menu is expanded, revealing a list of chart title position options.

Click the appropriate Chart Title option.

Example shown here: click Centered Overlay.

13. Step 13

Created chart displayed with the chart title highlighted

The chart title is centered and overlayed on the top of the chart.

To make additional edits, right-click the chart title.

14. Step 14

Chart Title pop-up menu displayed with the Fill dropdown button highlighted

The Chart Title pop-up menu is displayed. Here, you can edit style elements for your chart title such as style, fill and outline color.    

Click the Fill dropdown button.

15. Step 15

Fill dropdown menu displayed with the Blue, Accent 1, Lighter 80% option highlighted

The Fill dropdown menu is displayed. This menu allows you to change the color surrounding the chart title text.

Click the Blue, Accent 1, Lighter 80% option.

16. Step 16

Excel Spreadsheet displayed with the J1 cell highlighted

The selected fill color is added to the chart title.

To close the Chart Elements dropdown box, click an empty cell in the worksheet chart.  

Example shown here: cell J1.

17. Step 17

Created chart displayed with the chart title highlighted

The selected elements have been applied to the chart title.

18. Step 18

Created chart displayed with the chart top section highlighted

To add a legend, click the top section of a displayed chart to view additional options.

19. Step 19

Created chart displayed with the Chart Elements + button highlighted

The Chart Elements button is displayed in the upper right corner of the chart.

Click the Chart Elements [+] button.

20. Step 20

Chart Elements dropdown menu list displayed with the Legend checkbox highlighted

The Chart Elements dropdown menu list is displayed.

To add a legend to your chart, click the Legend checkbox.

21. Step 21

Created chart displayed with the Chart Legend highlighted

The Legend is added to the right side of the chart. 

22. Step 22

Created chart displayed with the expand arrow [>] highlighted

You can format the legend to enhance its visibility or re-postion it on the chart.

To make changes to your chart legend, click the arrow [>] to the right of the Legend checkbox.

23. Step 23

Created chart displayed with the Bottom option highlighted

The Legend menu is expanded showing several legend placement options.

Select the appropriate placement option.

Example shown here: the Bottom option to display the legend at the bottom of the chart.

24. Step 24

Excel Worksheet displayed with the J1 cell highlighted

The legend is moved to the bottom of the chart.

To close the Chart Elements dropdown box, click an empty cell in the worksheet.

Example shown here: J1.

25. Step 25

Created chart displayed with the top section highlighted

To add a data table to the chart, click the top of a chart.

26. Step 26

Chart Elements list box displayed with the Data Table checkbox highlighted

The Chart Elements list box is displayed again.

Click the Data Table checkbox.

27. Step 27

Created data table displayed with the chart legends key highlighted

The created data table is displayed, showing the numeric values represented in the chart. The data table defaults to one with a legend key.  

Example shown here: the legend indicates that the blue bars represent Totals.

28. Step 28

Created chart displayed with the expand arrow [>] highlighted

If you wish to hide the legend key, click the arrow [>] to the right of the Data Table option in the Chart Elements menu.

29. Step 29

Created chart displayed with the No Legends Keys option highlighted

Click the No Legend Keys option.

30. Step 30

Chart Elements list box displayed with the Data Table checkbox highlighted

The Legend Key is hidden.

To hide any of the elements in your chart, click to uncheck the unneeded Chart Elements option(s).

Example shown here: unselect the Data Table box in the Chart Elements menu to remove the data table from your chart.

31. Step 31

Created data table displayed with the chart legends key highlighted

The deselected elements are hidden. 

32. Step 32

Created data table displayed with the Design tab highlighted

To add a Trendline to the chart, click the Design tab.

33. Step 33

Created data table displayed with the Add Chart Element dropdown button highlighted

To display a list of available chart elements, click the Add Chart Element dropdown button.

34. Step 34

Add Chart Element popup menu displayed with the Trendline link highlighted

The Add Chart Element popup menu displays a list of elements you can add to your chart.

Click the Trendline link.

35. Step 35

Add Chart Element popup menu displayed with the Liner option highlighted

A list of available trendlines is displayed. Choose the appropriate trendline to effectively display the chart data. Options include:

1. Linear: straight line for simple, linear data sets

2. Exponential: useful when data values rise or fall at a constantly increasing rate

3. Linear Forecast : creates a line that forecasts future points

4. Moving Average: smoothes the lines to show a pattern or trend more clearly

Additional options are available under More Trendline Options... as well.

Example shown here: Linear.

36. Step 36

Created trendline displayed and highlighted

The created trendline is displayed in the chart.